MSURA ANNUAL MEETING

MAY 7, 2024

MSU University Club and ZOOM

The meeting was called to order by President Jacqueline Babcock. She welcomed all, thanked those who contributed to making the meeting a success, introduced special guests, and acknowledged past presidents of the MSURA who were in attendance. She noted that this annual meeting was the culmination of celebrating the MSURA's 75th year, thus the presence of Sparty and the opportunity for photos with Sparty for those attending. She ended her remarks with a call for a moment of remembrance before introducing MSU's President, Kevin M. Guskiewicz, Ph.D.

President Guskiewicz shared information about his objectives, including his efforts to reach out to MSU's many colleges and administrative units, and plans for continuing to engage and listen to concerns of all groups across the MSU campus. He also noted the importance he sees in keeping retirees invested in the future of MSU.

Mike Garland, former assistant coach to Tom Izzo for 23 years, was introduced by Jacqie Babcock. While sharing the story of his long friendship with Tom Izzo, the theme of Mike's talk stressed the importance of establishing and encouraging the growth of meaningful relationships throughout life. Mike was also selling and signing his book, "Agoge," before and after the luncheon.

Angela Brown provided a status report on fundraising efforts for the Endowed Scholarships. We have raised sufficient money to fund three endowed scholarships. We will continue to raise money with the objective of funding a fourth endowed scholarship. She announced four scholarship recipients for the 2024-2025 academic year. Two attended the luncheon with their parents. The winners include: Marshall Hudson (East Lansing, MI); Lillian Jehl (Chicago, IL); Hazel Von Maur (Grand Rapids, MI); Nathaniel Torrence (DeWitt, MI).

Cheryl Pell presented a Certificate of Appreciation to our newsletter's student journalist, JaTasia Powers.

Jacqie Babcock announced the slate for the board elections for 2024-2025. The vote was by acclimation: Dave Brower, President; Angela Brown, Vice-President; Bill Humphrey, Treasurer. Bruce Smith and Bill Anderson were re-elected as Members at Large.

Bill Anderson introduced the Volunteer of the Year recipient, Bruce Smith. Bruce has dedicated his time, effort, and expertise to MSURA over the past nine years. As Member at Large he has managed the content on the media server and ensured that all members have access to the membership meetings and the annual meetings via Zoom and / or recordings.

Pam Marcis awarded the door prizes: a gift bag from MSUFCU; and Eat At State meal tickets from MSU Culinary Services.

Jacqie concluded the meeting with congratulations to the leadership team for the coming year. She also announced upcoming events planned for the summer months: a bus tour to Meadowbrook in early June, a brunch at Newman Lofts in July, and a Lugnuts' game in August.

Submitted by Kate Wight

Secretary